With a 7-0 mauling of Spartak Moscow at Anfield on Wednesday night, Liverpool sealed their qualification for the knockout stages of the 2017-18 Uefa Champions League.

Needing only a point to advance prior to the final group game, a hat-trick by Phillipe Coutinho, a brace by Sadio Mane and a goal each by Roberto Firmino and Mohamed Salah helped the Jurgen Klopp’s men seal their qualification in style.

Liverpool made it five Premier League teams in the round of 16, alongside Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham and Chelsea – who emerged runners-up in Group C while others won their groups.

Joining Liverpool to qualify in Group E are Spanish giants Sevilla, who played 1-1 at Maribor to secure second place on 9 points, three points ahead of Spartak Moscow in third spot.

Elsewhere, Borussia Dortmund were beaten 3-2 by title holders, Real Madrid, but qualified for the Europa League as Tottenham destroyed Apoel 3-0 in the other Group H tie.

Spurs and Real already qualified from the group as winners and runners-up respectively.

Serie A giants Napoli also failed to make it to the knockout stages after suffering a 2-1 defeat at Feyenoord on Wednesday, as Shakhtar Donetsk beat Manchester City 2-1 to finish second place in Group G.

Portuguese side, FC Porto sealed their qualification for the next round with a 5-2 home victory over French champions, Monaco.

With the victory, Porto finished ssecond place to Turkish champions, Besiktas, who ended RB Leipzig’s hopes by beating them 2-1 in Germany.

Leipzig will however join the Europa League next year while Monaco are out of European competitions this season.

The draw for the Champions League round of 16 will take place on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *